11 Dec 2023 Tech

Apple Journal Lock In

The Apple Journal is coming. And as I've expressed my concerns before, I plan to abstain from using it and don't think I'll even try it. Not to brag, but journaling is a "solved problem" for me, so I don't need a new solution no matter how shiny Apple markets it. Yet having some interest, I watched CNET's recent video in which Bridget Carey previews it. Something she said about "lock-in" struck a chord in me. And with that I want to reiterate some reasons why I won't use Apple Journal.

Lock-in

My main reason to resist Journal is to avoid being more locked into Apple's walled-garden. Don't get me wrong, it's a very pretty and relaxing garden and works well enough. But I can't help feeling generally concerned about platform lock-in. As much as I like an elegant and synergistic computing ecosystem, I don't like feeling stuck and prefer some open flexibility, not putting all my eggs in one digital basket.

With Journal, Apple's castle moat is getting bigger. Sure, you can still cross it to venture in other digital gardens, but it's increasingly hard to do so. At some point, the switching cost will be too high for anyone. As Bridget Carey said,

"Imagine a year goes by, you made over 100, maybe 200 posts, all stored on the iPhone. Would you just throw that away, just toss out your diary and switch to Android? Apple found yet another way to make you not want to leave iOS for Android."

iPhone only

At launch, Journal is iPhone only. So no Mac, iPad, or iCloud web version. I'm sure that's temporary. But for some like me, it's a deal-breaker out of the gate. I wouldn't want to connect a bluetooth keyboard to my iPhone to type out my journals, and thumb-typing can only get you so far.

Creepy

Journal can suggest many personal journal prompts to you based on your activity and location. It can do this because it "knows" so much about your daily routines thanks to your iPhone living in your pocket. To me, that's got some creep-factor going on. It's a bit too much. If you think it's creepy that your location history is kept by Google Maps, for example, then you'll likely be irked by your iPhone doing similar activity tracking.

Too helpful

Along with that, the reach of Journal portends things going too far when, thanks to recent A.I. advances, the iPhone is on the cusp of Siri randomly saying to you, "Looks like you've been at work for a few hours, Jason. Maybe take a coffee break." That's innocent enough I guess. But what's to stop Siri from one day suggesting you see your doctor or therapist since you're apparently overworked or you broke your mindfulness breathing streak?

The Apple Watch, for example, already tells you it's time to stand, to wash your hands long enough, or it's time to reflect or breathe deeply. And the iPhone can say you've been on your phone too long or too often (Screen Time), you're staring too closely at your phone, or you need to turn down the volume. What am I, a kid? While I rely on Reminders or Calendar alerts to remember special tasks, being prompted to do such basic routine things seems too hand-holdy.

Summary

Computer companies like Apple make lots of amazing tech, but is it always the necessary solution to some of life's problems? Sometimes it seems like overkill. Don't get me wrong, digital tools are truly helpful and journaling can be therapeutic; I journal daily in Obsidian. But the Journal app seems too helpful and like another lock on the walled-garden gate.

Comments? Email or mention me.