25 Oct 2023 Tech

Logitech Folio Touch For iPad Review

If you want an iPad to be more than a tablet, you can totally have that. For my iPad Air 5 to replace my M1 MacBook Air, it needed a good keyboard and trackpad. It's tough to get any better than Apple’s hardware, but the Magic Keyboard is expensive. So I found a good deal on a keyboard case by one of the next best gadget makers. It's the Logitech Folio Touch. After a month of usage, I find it meets or exceeds my expectations. There are a few minor downsides, but overall it lets my tablet be my laptop.

How it works

The Logitech Folio Touch (LFT) keyboard case is a simple all-in-one device. The keyboard doesn't detach on this model (Logitech makes a more expensive version that does), so the whole thing is one unit. The iPad snaps into the case, connecting with pogo pins on the back, and it's ready to go.

The backlit keyboard gets power from the iPad via the Smart Connector, so it never needs to be charged or have batteries replaced. It's always connected, so it never needs to pair over bluetooth. And it's always physically attached, so I never need to fetch it. If I had the version with a detachable keyboard, I would too often need to get it from another room since it'd be physically separated, which would wear on me.

Fully closed, the LFT looks like a soft textured gray slab. There's a closure flap on the outside edge that magnetically snaps in both the open and closed positions. So while open, it's secured out of the way. And closed, there are actually two magnet positions available. One creates a tight closure fit, the other allows just enough room to slide an Apple Pencil through the closure flap, which has a pass-through slot built into it. So even if the flap somehow disengaged from the magnets and flopped open, the Pencil would stay in place thanks to the slot. It's fully and smartly thought out.

Fully open in laptop mode, the device looks like a Microsoft Surface or Apple’s Magic Keyboard Folio with the 10th gen. iPad. So the tablet stands up, the keyboard cover folds down, and a full-length kickstand folds out from the back. Its friction hinge allows for any angle up to almost flat, which was a critical feature for me. No matter what the lighting is like anywhere I use the LFT, I can adjust the iPad display to the exact sweet spot to maximize ergonomic comfort and to minimize screen glare.

In "tent mode," the keyboard folds beyond flat until it's key-side down while the hinge is open. This shortens the base, letting you pull the display closer to you for easier touch control and more immersive viewing (for an 11" screen). It's a propped up tablet setup. I use it this way only when it's on my lap, a pillow, or other soft surface to avoid scratching the key caps.

In tablet mode, the support hinge is closed and the keyboard folds flat on the backside. I use this sometimes in landscape but mostly in portrait orientation, which is fine if you prop it up on something. The overall device is a bit too large and heavy to hold in portrait mode for long, so I wouldn't say it's an eReader replacement. And with the keyboard folded backwards, I can totally feel the keys and trackpad on the back. It's not ideal or preferred, but I've honestly not been bothered or hindered by it.

How it looks and feels

I sincerely think the LFT build quality is about an 8 or 9, while Apple's quality would be a 10. That's to say it's truly excellent. Fit and finish are tight and clean. Cut outs for buttons and speaker grills are accurate. It has rubbery buttons on top of the volume up/down; they work well. The case also includes a cutout for the Apple Pencil.

The keyboard is thin yet doesn't flex or bend in any unsettling ways, rather it feels stiff and sturdy. The keycaps have almost zero wobble or wiggle to them. Travel is about 1mm. The fully-adjustable backlight bleeds from under the upper function-key row and between the up and down arrow keys a little, but it's not blinding or distracting. Otherwise, the backlight is mostly even throughout all the keys. I've dropped some food crumbs here and there and none seem to get stuck down in the keys or cause issues.

The cover material on the keyboard deck is like a fine textured canvas. It feels warm and soft. After one month, there is absolutely no fraying on any of the seems or edges. I like the look and feel of the material a lot, more than the cold metal of my MacBook Air in fact. It's more comfortable. A few greasy food stains seemed to wipe off easily enough, so keeping it clean over time should work.

How it types

This is most important. Do all the keys work? Does it have all the iPad or Mac functions? Does the trackpad actually work? A resounding, "Yes!" The globe key, CMD-Tab, Spotlight Search, the function row with media shortcuts, backlight controls, and display brightness controls: they all work greatly. Multi-touch gestures from the Mac and those tailored to iPad all work well. This surprised me because I wasn't sure how fully-featured swipe gestures would be on the trackpad, which is small but it works.

You can physically click the trackpad or enable the tap to click function, which I love. The trackpad is not as fully-clickable as is the MacBook's. Unlike that one, which felt totally flat anywhere you clicked, the LFT seems to have a hinge (it's not haptic). So you can physically depress the trackpad as a button up to about 3/4s from the top edge. But with tap-to-click turned on, this isn't much of an issue.

At first, the smaller width keyboard felt a little cramped. But as expected, I adjusted in time. With a month to type on the LFT, I can now say my typing speed matches what it was on the MacBook. My hands also don't feel contorted or too close together. And there's just enough palm rest to be useable. That said, this is the smallest I'd want a keyboard to be.

How it could be better

A bigger keyboard would be better. But the LFT's minimal size is no fault of its own, being constrained by the size of the 11" iPad itself. The funny thing is, I like the mini size of the LFT. It's compact, minimal, and kind of cute. And I imagine that a 13" iPad Pro plus an LFT to fit would be substantially dense, thick, or heavy.

My 11" iPad Air plus LFT is about twice as thick and heavy as the iPad Air by itself. It's certainly not uncomfortable to hold, but the added heft is noticeable and is a significant increase overall. The 11" iPad Air 5 is small, but it means that with the LFT, the whole unit is fairly dense. Still, it's easier to carry and pack in my bag than was my MacBook. I'm not sure how the LFT could be lighter or thinner without compromising structural integrity though.

A traditional clamshell form factor would be better to use iPad as a laptop, but it might be top-heavy. It's a nice trade-off as it is though, because it allows for tent-mode and helps it balance the line between tablet and laptop. That said, since the keyboard is connected to the case by a fabric hinge, it's flexible. This means it often isn't level when used on an actual lap. So I typically use laptop mode on a lap-desk. It's like a mini table and actually works great.

It'd be cool if the keyboard backlight was RGB and you could pick your favorite color or cycle through them.

Summary

I've never used any of Apple's own iPad keyboards, so I can't compare the LFT to them. Before I had the LFT, I used a stand-alone Anker bluetooth full-size keyboard. It had a very good typing experience, but I never liked toting it around with my iPad since its shape and size were different; it felt clunky. And I'd too often need to fetch it from another room where I'd left it. The bluetooth connection was mostly solid but not always, and its keys were not backlit. The LFT is a huge step up in every way.

The Logitech Folio Touch effectively turns my iPad Air into a laptop, which is what I needed to replace my MacBook Air. I'm super glad I was able to grab it on sale. And I'm thankful to have a fully working unit and hope it lasts for many more years. The overall quality is top-notch, and it has the features most people need. It earns a solid recommendation.

Comments? Email or mention me.